STATE OF MINNESOTA

IN SUPREME COURT

C1-81-1206

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

The Minnesota Board of Law Examiners has requested that the Supreme Court increase its allocated portion of the attorney registration fee by Three Dollars (\$3.00).

The Court has reviewed the request and is fully advised in the premises,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

The attached amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of Attorneys are adopted, prescribed and promulgated to be effective for registration fees due July 1, 2003.

Dated: December <u>16</u>, 2002

BY THE COURT:

ABlue

Kathleen A. Blatz Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS DEC 1 8 2002



RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

Rule 2. Registration Fee

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for such admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of Two Hundred Fifteen Dollars (\$215) Two Hundred Eighteen Dollars (\$218) or in such lesser sum as the court may annually hereafter determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, July or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:

 $\frac{15}{18}$ to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$10 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$120 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

\$12 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund

\$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

\$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred Ninety Dollars (\$190) <u>One Hundred</u> <u>Ninety-three Dollars (\$193)</u>. The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-five Dollars (\$25).

B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of One Hundred Four Dollars (\$104) One Hundred Seven Dollars (\$107):

(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;

(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The One Hundred Four Dollars (\$104) One Hundred Seven Dollars (\$107) so received shall be allocated as follows:

 $\frac{15}{18}$ to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

\$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

\$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Seventy-nine Dollars (\$79) Eighty-two Dollars (\$82). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-five Dollars (\$25).

C. Any Attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years shall pay an annual registration fee of Ninety-four Dollars (\$94) Ninety-seven Dollars (\$97).

The Ninety-four Dollars (\$94) Ninety-seven Dollars (\$97) so received shall be allocated as follows:

\$15 <u>\$18</u> to the State Board of Law Examiners

\$10 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

\$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

\$12 to the Client Security Fund

3

\$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

\$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars (\$25,000) per year, shall pay a registration fee in the sum of Eighty-one Dollars and fifty cents (\$81.50) Eighty-four Dollars and fifty cents (\$84.50). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Dollars and fifty cents (\$12.50).

D. Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee.

E. Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled, who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration fee.

4